CD Almuñecar City Get Back To Winning Ways

CD Almuñecar City got back to winning ways with a comprehensive ways with a 3-1 victory against CD Dúrcal.

Following the disappointment from the weekend's draw, George Jermy named five changes to the starting eleven with Brandon Gomez, Ivan Parra, Aurele Beya, Miguel Fernandez and Nicky Guyo all coming into the fold.

CD Almuñecar City opened the scoring after just four minutes through Max Mikkola to put aside any doubts from the weekend. Max Mikkola picked up the ball just inside the area in a central position and slotted past the 'keeper with tremendous power.

Max Mikkola continued to be a dominant attacking force throughout the opening stages; the winger had another attempt at goal on the 11th minute after Hastings found the winger in space through a long diagonal ball.

The visitors had a golden opportunity to double their lead in the 14th minute; Nicky Guyo beat his man on the left hand side and whipped a ball across the face of goal which found Max Mikkola who skied over the bar from two yards out.

It wasn't long until CD Almuñecar City converted one of their chances, though. Mikhail Hastings looped a ball into the box from a throw in which the goalkeeper attempted to clear away - he couldn't make solid contact and the ball ended up in the back of the net much to the frustation of the CD Dúrcal players.

Brandon Gomez was forced into action just before half time with an acrobatic save low to his left to deny the hosts the opportunity to get back into the game.

Kasper Mikkelsen made it three after calmly converting past the goalkeeper in the 70th minute putting CD Almuñecar City into the driving seat heading into the final twenty minutes.

CD Dúrcal managed to get on the scoresheet in the 88th minute with a low drive from twenty five yards beating Brandon Gomez at his near post.

However, the goal proved to be nothing but a consolation and CD Almuñecar City were victorious when the referee blew his full time whistle.

Starting XI: Gomez, Sanchez, Parra, Hastings, Jimenez, Beya, Bickett, Mikkola, Fernandez, Dedoncker, Guyo.

Match Highlights

  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle